Jellyfish are marine animals.

They belong to the phylum Cnidaria.

There are over 2,000 known species of jellyfish.

Jellyfish have a gelatinous, umbrella-shaped bell.

They are found in oceans worldwide.

Jellyfish have tentacles that contain stinging cells called nematocysts.

The box jellyfish is considered one of the most venomous creatures.

Jellyfish use their tentacles to capture prey.

Some species of jellyfish are bioluminescent.

Jellyfish have a simple nervous system and lack a brain.

They move by contracting their bell, pushing water to propel themselves forward.

Jellyfish are 95% water.

Certain species of jellyfish are transparent.

They are composed of two main layers: epidermis and gastrodermis.

Jellyfish feed on small fish and plankton.

The immortal jellyfish is capable of reverting its cells to a juvenile state.

Jellyfish have a short lifespan, ranging from a few hours to several months.

They are often preyed upon by sea turtles and other predators.

Jellyfish blooms can consist of thousands of individuals.

Some jellyfish are capable of both sexual and asexual reproduction.

The lion's mane jellyfish has the longest tentacles of any jellyfish species.

Jellyfish are important in marine ecosystems as both predators and prey.

Certain species of jellyfish are used in traditional medicine.

Jellyfish are sensitive to environmental changes.

Climate change and pollution can impact jellyfish populations.

Jellyfish have been in existence for millions of years.

They have a simple digestive system with a central mouth for both intake and expelling waste.

Jellyfish are often showcased in aquariums.

The moon jellyfish is one of the most common species.

Jellyfish do not have a circulatory or respiratory system.

Some jellyfish are capable of regenerating lost body parts.

The Portuguese man o' war is not a true jellyfish but a siphonophore.

Jellyfish are often referred to as 'jellies' or 'sea jellies.'

Jellyfish are mesmerizing to watch but should be observed with caution in the wild.